The magnificent achievements by Westport athletes in 2010 were reflected in the number of awards won both individually and by the club at the annual Mayo Awards ceremony, sponsored by C&C Cellular and Vodafone  which was held in Park Hotel, Kiltimagh on Sunday last March 13th.

For the tenth year back to back Westport AC won the Track and Field Club of the Year award, proudly collected by Gerry Kilroy on behalf of the club.


Outstanding achievement awards went to Caoimhe King for her record breaking year in triple jump, Pamela Hughes for winning the ladies high jump at the National Senior Indoor Championships and the British University Championships, Alannah Gannon for setting a new Championship Best Performance in the high jump.  Also to Cian McManamon(Walk), Niamh McLoughlin(Shot Putt) both of whom won two gold medals at the National Championships.

High achievement awards went to  Patrick Chambers and Fiachra Byrne (Team 600m), David Harper (1500m), Anthony Chambers (800m), Deena Sadik (Walk), who all won gold at the National Championships.

Achievement Certificates went to all the athletes who won silver and bronze medals at the National Championships. They were Katie Hyland (Combined Events), Clara Tierney (Walk), Brianna Bruton and Sarah Harper (Team 300m), Con Doherty (3000m), Daniel Lavelle (Shot Putt), Kathy McKenna (Javelin) and Laimonas Ruibys (Shot Putt).  Also the U9 team of Annie Noonan, Brianna Bruton, Caoimhe Gannon, Sarah Harper and Saoirse O'Brien, the U16 team of David Harper, Kevin Hastings, Con Doherty, Rory Keating and Jason Gavin who both won the bronze medal in the sprint relay at the Outdoors.

Westport enjoyed more success in the National Cross Country Championships with Ellen Moran and Con Doherty winning Bronze medals.  Also the U11 team of Aaron Doherty, Fiachra Byrne, Patrick Chambers, Marley Hoban, Mark Moran, Cian McAllister and Oisin Moran who won Team Bronze.

None of this success would be achieved without our wonderful team of coaches, Ernie Deacy, Gerry Kilroy, Rob Keenan, Breifne Gannon, Lorna Harper, Edel McAlister, Austin O'Malley, Mel King, John Fahey and Mary Dillane.  A sincere thank you to you all.

See Gallery 2011 for more photographs.