Large crowd at Mayo National Schools Cross Country Championships
The Mayo National Schools Cross Country championships were held at Ballina Athletic Club ground in Belleek, Ballina last Tthursday.  Over five hundred athletes comepeted for all corners of Mayo.  Despite windy conditions and one heavy shower the athletes ran the races of their young lives to bring honour and glory to their schools.  For some of the athletes this was their first competitve race and they must all be proud of themselves for the great effort they put in to complete the course.

Results:  3rd & 4th Class Girls.  1st Bridget Mills, Breaffy, Ballina, 2nd Caoimhe Gannon, Knockrooskey, 3rd Meave Gallagher, Meelick, 4th Ruth Moran, Knockrooskey, 5th Saoirse O'Brien, Gaelscoil Westport, 6th Emily Boyle, St Joseph's Ballinrobe, 7th Zoe Forde, St. Joseph's Ballinrobe, 8th Lauren McLellan, Belcarra, 9th Anna O'Donovan St Angela's Castlebar, 10th Tara Needham, Louisburgh, 11th Joanne Loftus, Richmond, 12th Caoimhe Loftus, Richmond.  Teams:  1st Gaelscoil na Cruatihe 69 points, 2nd Breaffy, Ballina 111 points, 3rd Ballinrobe 119 points.  Results 3rd & 4th Class Boys. 1st Luke Dawson, St. Colcilles, Westport, 2nd Harry burke, Claremorris Boys, 3rd Liam McCann, Kinaffe, 4th Cathal Joyce, Claremorris Boys, 5th Killian Heaney, Gaelscoil na Cruaithe, 6th Josh Delaney, Scoil Padraig, Ballina, 7th Thomas Devaney, Snugboro, 8th Rossa McAllister, Gaelscoil na Cruaithe, 9th cian O'Connel, St Joseph's Ballinrobe, 10th shea Pye, Foxford, 11th Donnacha McHugh, St. Pat's Castlebar, 12th Michael Fahey, St. Pat's Castlebar. Teams:  1st Claremorris Boys, 2nd St. Pat's Castlebar, 3rd Snugboro 143 points.  5th & 6th Class Girls.  1st Maria Reilly, Bangor Erris, 2nd Aoife Ni Brian, Gaelscoil na Cruaithe, 3rd Alice Hynes, Carramore, 4th Siobhan Lyons, Claremorris Girls, 5th Emma Loftus, Richmond, 6th Alannah Duffy, St. Joseph's Ballinrobe, 7th Emer Diskin, Barnacarroll, 8th Allannah Daly, Cloonliffen, 9th Grace mcGuire, Gaelscoil Claremorris, 10th Amy O'Connor, Currabaggan, 11th Ellen Phillips, Ballyhaunis, 12th Ella Brennan, Charlestown.  Teams;  1st Ballinrobe, 72 points, 2nd Claremorris, 113, 3rd Quay Ballina 139 points.  5th & 6th class Boys.  1st Adam Phillips Derrynabrook, 2nd Patrick Chambers, Newport, 3rd Conor Maheady, Cooneal, 4th Cian McAllister, Gaelscoil na Cruaithe, 5th Owen McLoughlin, Gaelscoil na Cruaithe, 6th Brian Quinn, Claremorris, 7th David McBrien, Ballaghadereen, 8th Shea Benson, Balla, 9th Mark Moran, Knockrooskey, 10th Cormac Mac Dermott, Quay, Ballina, 11th Oisin Hanlon, Ballinrobe, 12th Aaron Doherty, St. Colmcilles Westport.  The Connaught National Schools Cross Country Championships takes place in Dangan, Galway on Saturday next 15th October at 1.00pm.