The inaugural Lough Furnace 10km race took place last Sunday December 4th at Derrada just outside Newport and was a tremendous success.  The race was organised by Georgia MacMillan and Gerry Kilroy on behalf of Westport AC and sanctioned by AAI. This challenging road race included several short sharp hills and took the 82 competitors around one of the most picturesque courses in the west.

The race winner was Anthony Devaney, Ballyvary (Mayo AC) who crossed the line in an impressive time of 37.36.  Second home was Noel Gibbons, Western Lakes Cycling Club, Ballinrobe in 38.08 followed by Brendan Conway, Westport in a time of 39.45.

First to cross the line for the women was Dalva McPhillips, Westport Triathlon Club in a time of 48.10.  Pauline Moran from Newport came home second in 49.17, closely followed by Donna Gallagher, Claremorris (Mayo AC) in 49.19.

Special mention needs to go to 80 year old Sean Dooner (81 in April 'the oldest runner in Ireland'),  South West Vets AC and Longford AC who finished the race in an amazing time of 81.57, a shining example to all.

Sincere thanks to Georgia MacMillan for her trojan work in the organising and coordination of the race.  Also to the local resident & club volunteers who gave their time in typical race weather, to Sinead and Francis Cusack and Derrada Community Hall.   To NADDCo/NewportTidy Town Committee, particularly Fiona Hopkins. Huge thanks to Michael Sheridan, Newport Centra for his kind contribution of all the water, Newport Gardai and Order of Malta.  Thanks also to Mayo County Council/Greenway and to Mayo Sports Partnership.  To Josephine Kilroy from Kilroy taxis for the shuttle bus service from Newport to Derrada.  Lastly a huge thanks to all the competitors who supported the event, so enthusiastically – we hope to see you all again next year! 

Click here for Results.

Furnace 10km starting line 

Dalva McPhillips receiving first prize 
from Mel King Chairman Westport AC 

 Anthony Devaney receiving first prize 
 from Mel King Chairman Westport AC.

  Sean Dooner - 80 year old wonder!. 

 First 3 women l-r Pauline Moran(2nd), 
 Dalva McPhillips(1st) and Donna Gallagher(3rd)

 First 3 home l-r Noel Gibbons(2nd), 
 Anthony Devaney(1st) and Brendan Conway(3rd)